Good Monday Rummage Day

Standard

Howdy!!

Well, I’m sure I’ve told you that I work a regular 9-5, that greatly interferes with my need for crafting. But, I love to eat and provide a humble abode to my children, so I work therefore I eat, isn’t that how the saying goes? Well anyway, I’m on my way home and I decide to make my biweekly trip to the local second-hand store, Value World. I don’t know if they are in other states, but we have a few here in Indy. It’s like a Goodwill, but a way better selection on clothing (better prices too). So every week or so they have a certain ticket color that is 50% off for the week, much like Goodwill.

So I’m attempting to make a tie quilt, a quilt made from men’s ties, not the traditional tie quilt of the olden days. So every few weeks I go to the Value World and buy up all of the cute ties that have that particular color tag that’s half off, so I never pay more than 60-80 cents on a tie. SCORE!! I’ve pinned pictures of tie quilts on my Pinterest board and the one in particular that I will copy I mean get inspiration from has about 80 ties, so I’ve been collecting ties for awhile. I also discovered a really neat trick to clean them, because I kinda get the willies thinking where the tie may have come from (I’ll leave that to your imagination). I roll them up and put a rubber band around them and put them in a net bag and tie that really tight so they don’t get loose and pop them in the washer and wash them on a regular cycle with regular detergent and lay them out on my ironing board and let them air dry. I place a piece of cotton on top to iron them and viola! good as new!

20130211-192021.jpg

20130211-192342.jpg

20130211-194322.jpg

20130211-194425.jpg

AND, by the way this store sells fabric by the bag!! I have no idea where they get it from, but sometimes it has yards right off the bolt!

20130211-195041.jpg

Ok enough about my SUPER GREAT DEALS!!

Have a blessed evening!

If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. (1 Corinthians 13:3 NIV)

Leave a Reply

