Happy Sunday Quiltday

Standard

Good evening out there in the Blogosphere!

So I haven’t posted in a while, and I’m so sorry for that. I’m so sure you all have been waiting at the edge of your seats!! But, I’ve definitely been busy with really good reasons. I’ve been, interviewing for a promotion at work, two interviews down and hopefully one more to go next week. I’m super excited, but I prayed about it and I’ll leave it in the Lord’s hands. He knows what’s best for me.

I’ve also been busy on my quilt for February! I found this tutorial for a bubble quilt on this blog http://www.awaitingada.com and she explains the steps really well.

20130224-182903.jpg

20130224-183025.jpg

It turned out pretty cute. The mom-to-be picked out really cute colors for her baby boy. I had a couple of issues; I think I stuffed the squares too full, so it was difficult to sew the backing, ruffle, and the top on. So next time I’ll wait to stuff the squares around the edge last and then sew the backing and ruffle on and then stuff them before turning it right side out. And instead of cutting the back of the square to stuff them I’ll probably try the method that someone commented on her blog to sew whole rows together and then stuff them. Or use fusible interfacing on the cut to prevent having to sew each square individually. But, nevertheless it was a great sewing experience. I would definitely do it again for some new mommies.

I’ve also been busy starting new projects that I shouldn’t start until I’m finish with one. Like my tie quilt, which I’ve collected about 50 ties so far.

20130224-184527.jpg

20130224-184540.jpg

20130224-184550.jpg

And last but not least, this wonderful quilt, that I found at http://www.modabakeshop.com
It’s a Vintage Modern Pinwheels Quilt
And I’ve started with this beautiful fabric:

20130224-185456.jpg

20130224-185511.jpg

it’s Annette Tatum, I believe, it’s her “Tailored” Collection

So, I’ll keep you all posted on my next few sewing endeavors. I can’t wait!!!

Have a blessed evening!!

For it is commendable if someone bears up under the pain of unjust suffering because they are conscious of God. To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps. (1 Peter 2:19, 21 NIV)

Leave a Reply

